# PART FIVE: ORGANISATIONAL MATTERS OF THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE BOARD OF INDIA

#### 1. SEBI BOARD

Shri T M Nagarajan was appointed as a Whole Time Member of SEBI under clause (d) of sub-section (1) of Section 4 of the SEBI Act, 1992 by Government of India vide notification dated 17.6.2003. Shri Nagarajan assumed charge as Whole Time Member with effect from 19.6.2003.

Shri A K Batra was appointed as a Whole Time Member of SEBI under clause (d) of sub-section (1) of Section 4 of the SEBI Act, 1992 by Government of India vide notification dated 17.6.2003. Shri Batra assumed charge as Whole Time Member with effect from 8.7.2003.

Dr Ashok K Lahiri, Chief Economic Adviser, Department of Economic Affairs, Government of India was nominated as one of the Members on the Board in terms of Government of India notification dated 1.4.2003.

Shri M M K Sardana, Secretary, Department of Company Affairs, Government of India was nominated as one of the Members on the Board in terms of Government of India notification dated 21.7.2003 in place of Shri V K Dhall.

Smt. K J Udeshi, Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India was nominated as one of the Members on the Board in terms of Government of India notification dated 26.6.2003 in place of Shri G P Muniappan.

During the year, ten Board meetings have been conducted, seven at Mumbai

and one each at Delhi, Chennai and Kolkatta.

Table 5.1: Board Meetings during 2003-04

		Number of meetings held	Number of meetings attended
(i)	Chairman		
	Shri G.N. Bajpai	10	10
(ii)	Whole Time Members		
	Shri T.M. Nagarajan	8	8
	Shri A.K. Batra	7	7
(iii)	Members		
	Shri M.M.K. Sardana	7	4
	Dr. Ashok K. Lahiri	10	9
	Shri Dhirendra Swarup	10	6
	Smt. K.J. Udeshi	7	4

## Note:

- ☐ Shri G P Muniappan attended the 2 meetings held during the year, prior to his relinquishing the post as Member.
- ☐ Shri V K Dhall did not attend any of the 3 meetings held during the year, prior to his relinquishing the post as Member.

### **Executive Directors**

Shri R S Loona joined SEBI as Executive Director on 7.5.2003.

Shri Sudev C Das joined SEBI as Executive Director on 7.7.2003.

Shri Pradipta Kumar Mishra joined SEBI as Executive Director on 15.3.2004.

#### 2. HUMAN RESOURCES

Human Resources Development has continued to be in strategic focus with implementation of policies on promotions, placements and transfers. The Board also undertook extensive recruitment