ANNUAL REPORT 2007-08



SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE BOARD OF INDIA

This Report is in conformity with the format as per the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Annual Report) Rules, 1994, notified in the Official Gazette on April 7, 1994.



भारतीय प्रतिभूति और विनिमय बोर्ड Securities and Exchange Board of India

एचओ1 / आरआई / ओटीडब्ल्यू / 2008/**NP)129652 23** जून, 2008

सी. बी. भावे अध्यक्ष C. B. Bhave Chairman

> सचिव, भारत सरकार, आर्थिक कार्य विभाग, वित्त मंत्रालय, नॉर्थ ब्लॉक, नई दिल्ली - 110 001.

प्रिय महोदय,

भारतीय प्रतिभूति और विनिमय बोर्ड अधिनियम, 1992 की धारा 18(2) के उपबंधों के अनुसार, मैं एतद्द्वारा भारत के राजपत्र असाधारण के भाग II खण्ड 3 उप-खण्ड (1) में 7 अप्रैल, 1994 को अधिसूचित भारतीय प्रतिभूति और विनिमय बोर्ड (वार्षिक प्रतिवेदन) नियम, 1994 में विहित प्ररूप में 31 मार्च, 2008 को समाप्त वर्ष के लिए भारतीय प्रतिभूति और विनिमय बोर्ड के वार्षिक प्रतिवेदन की प्रति अग्रेषित कर रहा हूँ।

भवदीय,

संलग्न : यथोक्त

The Secretary, Government of India Department of Economic Affairs Ministry of Finance, North Block New Delhi - 110 001. HO1 / RI / OTW / 2008/ NP 1296(9 23 d June 2008

Dear Sir,

In accordance with the provisions of Section 18(2) of the Securities and Exchange Board of India Act, 1992, I forward herewith the copy of the Annual Report of the Securities and Exchange Board of India for the year ended March 31, 2008, in the format prescribed in the Securities and Exchange Board of India (Annual Report) Rules, 1994, notified on April 7, 1994, in Part II Section 3 Sub-section (1) of the Gazette of India Extraordinary.

Yours faithfully,

polare (C. B. Bhave)

Encl.: a/a

सेबी भवन, प्लॉट सं. सी 4-ए, ''जी'' ब्लॉक, बांद्रा कुर्ला कॉम्प्लेक्स, बांद्रा (पूर्व), मुंबई - 400 051. दूरभाषः 2644 9999 / 4045 9999 फैक्सः 2644 9003 • ई-मेलः chairman@sebi.gov.in • वेब : www.sebi.gov.in

MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

(As on March 31, 2008)

C. B. BHAVE

CHAIRMAN

Members appointed under Section 4(1)(d) of the SEBI Act, 1992 (15 of 1992)

T. C. NAIR WHOLE TIME MEMBER

VENU SRINIVASAN Managing Director Sundaram Clayton Limited Chennai

G. MOHAN GOPAL *Director* National Judicial Academy Bhopal

Members nominated under Section 4(1)(b) of the SEBI Act, 1992 (15 of 1992)

ANURAG GOEL

Secretary Ministry of Corporate Affairs Government of India

K. P. KRISHNAN

Joint Secretary Ministry of Finance Department of Economic Affairs Government of India

Members nominated under Section 4(1)(c) of the SEBI Act, 1992 (15 of 1992)

V. LEELADHAR Deputy Governor Reserve Bank of India

CHAIRMAN AND MEMBERS OF THE SEBI BOARD

(As on March 31, 2008)



Shri C. B. BHAVE Chairman



Dr. T. C. NAIR Whole Time Member



Shri VENU SRINIVASAN Managing Director Sundaram Clayton Limited Chennai



Shri ANURAG GOEL Secretary Ministry of Corporate Affairs Government of India



Shri K. P. KRISHNAN Joint Secretary Ministry of Finance Department of Economic Affairs Government of India



Shri G. MOHAN GOPAL Director National Judicial Academy Bhopal



Shri V. LEELADHAR Deputy Governor Reserve Bank of India

CHAIRMAN, WHOLE TIME MEMBERS AND EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS



Left to Right :

- Standing : Shri R. K. Nair, Executive Director; Shri Manas Ray, Executive Director; Shri P. K. Nagpal, Executive Director; Smt. Usha Narayanan, Executive Director.
- Sitting : Dr. T. C. Nair, Whole Time Member, Shri C. B. Bhave, Chairman; Shri M.S. Sahoo, Whole Time Member; Dr. K.M. Abraham, Whole Time Member.

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE BOARD OF INDIA

Head Office

SEBI Bhavan, Plot No. C4-A, 'G' Block, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Bandra (East), Mumbai - 400 051 Website: http://www.sebi.gov.in